Educate Inspire Change

The Winner Of 2019’s Nobel Peace Prize Has Been Announced

a 2

The winner of the 2019 Nobel Peace Prize laureate has finally been announced and it’s Abiy Ahmed, Prime Minister of Ethiopia, for his peace-making deal with long time enemy and neighbor, Eritrea.

Ahmed, 43 was a favorite to win the Nobel Peace Prize this year. He recently helped created a power sharing deal in Sudan after a political crises which lead to the arrest of Omar al-Bashir, Sudan’s ruler of 30 years.

Many people were disappointed that Greta Thunberg, the 16 year-old Swedish climate activist, was not the winner of this year’s prize. The Nobel committee refused to comment in this regard.

Jakub Janda, the Director of the European Values Center for Security Policy, said this year’s winner was a good choice: “It is a choice that clearly highlights what the Nobel Peace Prize is all about — bringing a political solution to intense conflict and ultimately creating peace. So that is why it is such a good choice”

“I believe pro-democracy citizens in Hong Kong would deserve the [Nobel Peace] Prize as well,” Janda said about another worthy contender for the award.

There were a total of 301 candidates running for the 100th Nobel Peace Prize made up of 223 individuals and 78 organizations.

More info:

Awol Allo, associate professor of law at Keele University, United Kingdom, told the media “I think what Abiy did with the Eritrea issue was very courageous and remarkable. I think a lot of people have considered that what he has done is worthy of such a recognition. The two countries are no longer in the state of war. Families have been reunited because flights are now running between the two countries. Relations that have been severed for 20 years have been rekindled.”

Although the names of nominees and nominators are not revealed for 50 years, Thunberg was a firm favorite to win.

Thunberg has been making headlines around the world for a while and particularly since her journey across the Atlantic from the UK to the USA on a zero-emission yacht to deliver her passionate and, for some, controversial, speech at the United Nations Climate Action Summit.

Although many people support her message to world leaders that they should be doing much more to fight climate change, others felt she was too aggressive when talking with politicians, which may affect their attitude towards her efforts to bring about real change.

A third category thought is that Thunberg should be using her platform for fighting global warming in practical terms. A fourth group, mainly made up of those who don’t believe climate change and the global ecological crises exists, criticize her.

While Thunberg’s impatience with those who seem slow to take action and those refusing to acknowledge the problems caused by pollution to our planet is understandable and applauded by millions across the globe. World leaders and citizens alike, regardless of their position on the subject, must work towards finding common ground to discuss the issues and find solutions together. Honestly, mutual respect, patience and compromise would go a long way in achieving successful solutions.

The Nobel Peace Prize was awarded to Abiy Ahmed, the Prime Minister of Ethiopia

He used to be a former army intelligence officer… …but since becoming the Prime Minister of Ethiopia, he has launched widespread reforms

He promised to review the divisive system of ethnic federalism in the country, as well as liberalize several key economic sectors

2018’s Nobel Peace Prize was given to former ISIS slave Nadia Murad and Dr. Denis Mukwege, from Congo.

Previous winners of the Nobel Peace Prize included the former president of the US, Barack Obama

2009- Barack Obama “for his extraordinary efforts to strengthen international diplomacy and cooperation between peoples.”
2010 – Liu Xiaobo “for his long and non-violent struggle for fundamental human rights in China”
2011 – Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf, Leymah Gbowee and Tawakkul Karman “for the security and women’s rights”
2012 – European Union “for having over six decades contributed to the advancement of peace and reconciliation, democracy and human rights in Europe”
2013 – Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons for its work in destroying chemical weapons
2014 – Kailash Satyarthi (India) and Malala Yousafzai (Pakistan) “for their struggle against the suppression of children and young people and for the right of all children to education.”
2015 – Tunisian National Dialogue Quartet “for its decisive contribution to the building of a pluralistic democracy in Tunisia in the wake of the Jasmine Revolution of 2011”
2016 – Juan Manuel Santos “for his resolute efforts to bring the country’s more than 50-year-long civil war to an end, a war that has cost the lives of at least 220,000 Colombians and displaced close to six million people”
2017 – International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapon “for its work to show the humanitarian crisis of any use of nuclear weapon and for its ground-breaking efforts to achieve a treaty-based prohibition of such weapons.”
2018 – Denis Mukwege, Nadia Murad “for their efforts to end the use of sexual violence as weapon of war and armed conflict.”

Please SHARE this article with your family and friends.

You can follow us on Instagram HERE

We are about to launch a New Podcast show so Please subscribe to our YouTube channel HERE

IF you haven’t already please follow our Facebook page HERE

You can follow Kash Khan the Creator of EducateInspireChange  @ConsciousKash on Instagram

Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on twitter
Share on email
Share on pinterest
Neurohacker Ad

Related Posts


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on email

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter