Connect with us

Around The World

The human soul is composed of NINE parts according to Ancient Egyptians




The complex religion that prevailed during the almost three thousand years of the Ancient Egyptian Empire considered that the human soul was composed of nine separate parts, which together made up an individual.

In countless ancient cultures like those found in Asia, Africa, and even America, we find a Soul concept analogously eerily similar to the idea developed by the religions of the Judeo-Christian group (including Islam) and European philosophy.

If we look at the human soul from a Vedic point of view, we will find that the soul is the being, which by nature is eternal—meaning that its without birth or death or without beginning or end.

To the ancient Egyptians, the soul was of great importance, and their detailed description of the human soul proves that one of the most sophisticated ancient civilizations on Earth developed an extremely interesting concept that explains the human soul, unlike any other culture around the globe.


According to ancient Egyptian beliefs, the human soul was made of NINE main parts: the Ren, the Ba, the Ka, the Shuyet, the Jb, the Akh, the Sahu, the Khat and the Sechem.

I should mention that there are eras in which the soul was believed to have been comprised of five parts and in others seven, but, generally, it was nine.

Jb (The heart) was a crucial part of the Egyptian soul. It was assumed to form from one drop of blood from the mother’s heart, taken at conception. In ancient Egyptian mythology, the human heart was the key to the afterlife.

Shuyet (The Shadow) is always there. The ancient Egyptians were convinced that the shadow summarized what a person represents.

Ren (The name) was another significant part of the soul. A person’s Ren was given to them at birth, and the ancient Egyptians were convinced that it would live for as long as that name was spoken.

 (The personality) Resumed, the ancient Egyptians believed that Bâ was everything that makes a person unique.

Ka (The vital spark) According to ancient Egyptian beliefs, the Ka was an essential concept in the soul as it distinguishes the difference between a living and a dead person.


Khat (The Body) the Khat was the physical body which when deceased, provided the link between the soul and one’s earthly life.

Akh (The Immortal Self) according to ancient Egyptian belief, the Akh was the transformed immortal self which granted a magical union of the Ba and Ka.

Sahu (The Judge) The Sahu was the aspect of Akh which would appear to a person as a ghost or while asleep in dreams. Sahu was distinguished from all other aspects of the soul once the person was ‘justified’ by the God Osiris and judged worthy of eternal existence.

Sechem  (Another aspect of Akh) The Sechem was another aspect of the Akh which enabled it mastery of events. It was recognized as the vital life energy of the person which manifested itself as the power that had the ability to control one’s surroundings and outcomes.



Support Us


Every little bit helps fund the site & keep all the
free information on it. Thanks in advance.

Follow Us :