Julian Assange, Edward Snowden, and Chelsea Manning Nominated for 2020 Nobel Peace Prize for Extraordinary Efforts

Join our Community

Download our app to connect with a growing community from all over the world.

A group of seventeen members from a German parliamentary group nominated two whistleblowers, Edward Snowden and Chelsea Manning, and WikiLeaks journalist, Julain Assange, for the Nobel Prize of 2020. 

“These brave people should not be criminalized but should be recognized and honored. The war criminals and their henchmen must be held accountable,” claims Żaklin Nastić, one of the 17 members who have nominated these whistleblowers.  

Bringing the truth to light, these three individuals have won several awards. The full letter, published on the Courage Foundation’s website, explains the reasons why the German parliamentary believes Edward Snowden, Julian Assange, and Chelsea Manning deserve the Nobel Prize.

For example, Snowden’s efforts in revealing illegal mass surveillance, Assange’s lead in exposing harmful and illegal activity behind wars in Iraq and Afghanistan, and Manning’s disclosure of 750,000 sensitive military documents. Their sacrifices in revealing hidden information speaks volumes for the collective as well as inspiring others who might have worthy data to share for the betterment of humanity.



Here is an excerpt from the letter:

“With respect to the legalities of peace, Julian Assange and Wikileaks have contributed to the historical record on the International Criminal Court (ICC), established in 2002 under the Rome Statute of 1998, to promote the “peace, security and well-being of the world.” The ICC’s mission was to end impunity by prosecuting “the worst atrocities known to mankind”: war crimes, crimes against humanity and the crime of genocide.

When the ICC’s enforcement capabilities were taking shape in the years following its inception, cables published by WikiLeaks exposed bilateral deals between nations under Article 98 of the Rome Statute, in which states placed themselves outside the ICC’s jurisdiction. Article 98 deals undercut the ICC’s power to prosecute war crimes and other internationally illegal obstacles to a peaceful world order.

Later, in 2013, when Edward Snowden revealed the warrantless mass surveillance of citizens and officials worldwide, he exposed an immense global network with the capability to intercept and obstruct peace proponents such as Chelsea Manning and Julian Assange. Edward Snowden’s revelations have contributed to international investigations, transparency initiatives and legislative reforms around the globe.

These are but a selection of the contributions that Julian Assange, Chelsea Manning and Edward Snowden have made towards pursuing and defending lasting peace.

Together, their actions have exposed the architecture of abuse and war, and fortified the architecture of peace. In return, all three individuals have been forced to sacrifice the very liberties, rights and human welfare that they worked so hard to defend.

A Nobel Peace Prize for Julian Assange, Chelsea Manning and Edward Snowden would do more than honour their actions as individuals. It would ennoble the risks and sacrifices that those pursuing peace so often undertake, to secure the peace and freedom for all.”

These nominations are refreshing to see despite all these individuals have had to go through whether it be criminalization or torture. Justice shall be served and the mark left will forever leave a trace. 

Please SHARE this article with your family and friends.

Listen to our NEW Educate Inspire Change Podcast on iTunes HERE

You can follow us on Instagram HERE

You can follow Kash Khan the Creator of EducateInspireChange  @ConsciousKash on Instagram


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
On Key

Related Posts